Council of Heads of
Australasian Herbaria

The Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria (CHAH) comprises those administratively responsible for the major Australian and New Zealand Herbaria. The aim of CHAH is to promote all matters of interest to herbaria in Australasia and to increase cooperation and understanding between herbaria. Its operations are governed by a Constitution and a Statement of Objectives.

Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria
C/- Australian National Herbarium
GPO Box 1700
Canberra ACT 2601

All members of CHAH are registered with Index Herbariorum.
New Zealand members are also part of the New Zealand National Herbarium Network.


Membership of CHAH consists of the heads of:

New Zealand
Allan Herbarium, Christchurch (CHR)
Te Papa Herbarium, Wellington (WELT)
Auckland Museum Herbarium (AK)

National Forestry Herbarium (NZFRI)
Dame Ella Campbell Herbarium (MPN)
University of Otago Herbarium (OTA)
New Zealand Fungal Herbarium (PDD)

The Council meets annually, the host institution rotating among the capital cities in the following order: CANB, BRI, MEL, PERTH, AD, NSW, DNA, HO, CNS, CHR, WELT and AK.


Image 01